crocs blog

Spring has SPRUNG!

Posted on: March 29, 2010

With temperatures promised to be over 60 degrees for most of this week, here in Niwot, Colorado, I feel safe in saying that spring has officially SPRUNG! Take a look around and you will see folks coming out of their homes ready to shake off the winter dust as well as the extra layer winter has so graciously bestowed.

This past weekend, despite some windy weather, I donned my shorts (yes, SHORTS) and t-shirt and laced up my running shoes for what would be my fourth run OUTSIDE. Now, I know that there are many of you out there who brave the cold temperatures all winter-long for your runs, but I am a fair-weather runner, and I am not ashamed to admit it. Born and raised in Miami, Florida, my tolerance for being cold is quite low. Of course, I love to snowboard and play in the snow and I am not afraid to brave cold temperatures when it comes to these activities, but running in the freezing temps? No thanks.

For this reason, I must resort to other indoor activities during the winter months, which adds just that extra bit of complexity that more-often-than-not results in me coming up with at least 20 reasons why I don’t have the time to exercise that day.  I have a serious aversion to the treadmill. I can’t help it. I think it’s physiological. Why is it that running three miles on a treadmill feels like a half-marathon? Yes, I have tried the tricks…the covering up the display dash with my towel, watching tv, listening to music…but none of it seems to work. I do much better out on the open road and now that spring is here, that’s where you’ll hopefully find me a few days a week…peeling off my winter layer one step at a time.

Are you ready to resume your spring/summer activities? Where can you be found now that the weather is warming up?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

