crocs blog

Getting ready for Earth Day?

Posted on: April 21, 2010

Crocs as planters

With Earth Day literally around the corner, we at Crocs are thinking of ways to add a little more planetary love to our everyday. Recycling is a great way to get in the Green game, and we love the idea from Real Simple to use those old Classic or Beach clogs as planters.

What are some of the ways that you recycle your Crocs or recycle in-general? One reader suggested that we cut up our used Crocs and make cool stamps out of them for kids. (We might have to try that!)

Do you bring your own bags to the grocery store? Take your lunch in reusable containers instead of plastic bags? Write to us and let us know how you are saving the planet.

Happy (early) Earth Day, everyone.

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to "Getting ready for Earth Day?"

What a fun idea! I’m going to try this out this week-end! My kids will love it!
We’ve taught our kids to do simple and small things – turn off the water when brushing their teeth, separating the recyclables, turning off lights or unplugging the toaster, blender, etc when we’re not using them – every little bit counts!

Was looking for info. on your crocs recycling program and can’t find much? Have you launched the new program with Soles4Soles yet you mentioned in an old post? Have been saving my kid’s old crocs to recycle rather than throw away. Would really appreciate some info., thanks!

mgunn @ verizon (dot) net

My son likes to play with my Crocs in the sandbox, letting sand sift out of them. Though I still wear them!

We planted a real veggie garden this year, and are really looking forward to harvesting organic food from it. Of course I couldn’t do it without my Mary Jane Crocs!

Not yet, but we’re hoping to have more news about it soon!

I just wanted to take a minute and share that About 6 months ago I started having so much swelling and inflammation and pain in my feet that I was having problems just standing up.Plus I have walked my dog every day for the past 7 years and all of a sudden I was so scared that I would´nt be able to continue.But then I started wearing my croc flip flops while in doors and when I took my walks My feet started feeling better and I want to contibute my reduction in sweeling,inflammation and pain to my crocs.I have recently ordered 3 other pairs of crocs because I live in Iceland and need other crocs than just flip flops its still snowing in Iceland this time of years.Thanks to my crocs I am on the road to recovery.Sincerely Jacalyn

Wow, Jacalyn. Thank you for sharing your story!

I just bought a new pair of Crocs on eBay and it came with a tag telling me that Soles United and Crocs were working together to recycle Crocs into “new footwear and donated to people in need around the world”. But when I went to the listed website, solesunited.com to see where the “closest authorized crocs shoes collection center” is, a Go Daddy webpage appeared saying the domain name had expired last month. Is this program still on or another one like it? I too am saving up old worn out Crocs from my kids in order to recycle them…

These are most likely our old recycled SolesUnited shoes and it is an expired program. We will be launching a new program though called Soles4Souls in the coming months. Stay tuned!

I’m happy to hear that you are planning to launch the recycling of Crocs program again. A couple of years ago I had a bag full and couldn’t find a local dealer to take them. Now I have 3 bags full! I wear mine until the bottoms are so smooth that they are VERY slippery on wet surfaces. I could not donate them in good conscience to any one. I would appreciate an email notification when you get the program started.
Thanks,
Donna
Columbia, SC

Amazing! What a nice idea. I`ll will do it as well with my 4 years old Crocs. It seems to be i very good alternative.
Thanks a lot

Pfui. Lots of puffery about the recycling program, no information here (unless you count “it is an expired program.”) I’m afraid that I can’t spare the space to keep the broken pair sitting around, so it’s off the the landfill for the old Crocs and off to the Birkenstock store for me.

Sorry about that, Kimboi. We are still in the process of getting all the recycling bins in-place. Hope to have an announcement soon!

Leave a Reply

